Congratulations to TESOL Graduate Robert O’Leary Selected as English Language Fellow

We are pleased to announce that Robert O’Leary, Lehman College TESOL graduate, is among the 140 U.S. citizens selected for an English Language Fellow project by the U.S. Department of State in 2017-2018.  He will be spending the year at the Ministry of Education, in Lima.

Candidates are selected based on a carefully considered match of applicant experience to project needs. One of the most important criteria is always the candidate’s credentials in the field of TESOL, and being a graduate of your program was an important factor in this selection.

The English Language Fellow Program is the premier international exchange program that allows American English teachers to enact meaningful and sustainable changes in the way that English is taught abroad. Through projects developed by U.S. Embassies in more than 80 countries, Fellows work directly with local teachers, students, and educational professionals to improve the quality of English language instruction offered at prestigious universities and other academic institutions. English Language Fellows are counted among the more than 50,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs eachyear.

Since 1969, the English Language Fellow Program has sent thousands of TESOL scholars and educators abroad to promote English language learning, enhance English teaching capacity, and build relations between the United States and other countries. On assignment, Fellows conduct teacher training, teach English, develop resources, and organize events and conferences. These projects are challenging and the teachers selected represent the best of the U.S. TESOL community. In return, the program provides professional development opportunities to help participants experience different cultures and build skills that can greatly enhance their TESOL careers back home.

For further information about the program, please visit the websites of the English Language Fellow Program and the U.S. Department of State.