Lehman Athletics Holds 64th Annual Awards Dinner

May 18, 2016 3:33 pm Athletics, Uncategorized

Dr. Zwiren with Co-Female Athete of the Year Amely Del Rosario.

The Lehman College Department of Athletics hosted its 64th Annual Awards Dinner on Monday, May 9, 2016. Ten major awards were presented to student-athletes and support staff for their accomplishments during the 2015-2016 year, in addition to each sport handing out Most Valuable Player and Rookie of the Year honors.

Dr. Ricardo Fernández, the outgoing President of Lehman College, presented the President’s Award to the most outstanding Lehman student-athlete of 2015-2016, junior Amely Del Rosario (Bronx, N.Y./John F. Kennedy) of the women’s basketball team. Del Rosario led the Lightning to their first CUNYAC Championship since 2007, reaching the NCAA Championship Tournament. Del Rosario earned multiple accolades for her performance, as she was voted Conference Player of the Year, was named to both the MET and ECAC First Teams and ranked third in the country in scoring. On Monday, Del Rosario was also named Team MVP for women’s basketball and co-Female Athlete of the Year for the entire department.

A complete list of the major award winners follows:

  • Athletic Department Service Awards: Cesar Agostinelli
  • Paula Soto Spirit of Athletics Award: Chariny Graciano, Softball
  • Pedro Vialet Memorial Award: Olando Minott, Men’s Basketball
  • Charlie Greenberg Memorial Award: Elizabeth Oladele, Women’s Swimming & Diving
  • Ed Kramer Memorial Award: Gentian Muhaxheri, Men’s Soccer
  • Female Athlete of the Year Awards: Chelsey Harris, Women’s Soccer and Amely Del Rosario, Women’s Basketball
  • Male Athlete of the Year Awards: Chaun Miller, Men’s Basketball
  • Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award: Christina Lousell, Women’s Swimming & Diving
  • Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award: Gene Nakagaki, Men’s Tennis
  • President’s Awards: Amely Del Rosario, Women’s Basketball

Additionally, each of Lehman College’s 18 varsity sports teams and the cheerleaders handed out awards honoring the Rookie of the Year as well as the Most Valuable Player.

Sport Most Valuable Player Rookie of the Year
Baseball Carlo Francisco Jose Albrincole
Men’s Basketball Chaun Miller Edwin Pascual
Women’s Basketball Amely Del Rosario Khadijah Sangare
Cheerleading Shakeema Randolph Surelle Santos
Women’s Cross Country Victoria Theodore Maria Korolkova
Men’s Cross Country Matthew Olaniyi Joshua Roman
Women’s Indoor Track & Field Danielle Buckley Shannese Charles
Men’s Indoor Track & Field Darian Livingston Joshua Roman
Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Eva Raza Victoria Theodore
Men’s Outdoor Track & Field James Oliver Joshua Roman
Men’s Soccer Ramon Rowe Bijean Johnson
Women’s Soccer Chelsey Harris Daisy Gomez
Softball Meghan Bravo Genesis Paulino
Men’s Swimming & Diving Anthony Preda Chris Fischer
Women’s Swimming & Diving Jessica Reynoso Yaidee Nieves
Women’s Tennis Lynessa George Princess Roache
Men’s Tennis Gene Nakagaki Jason Strudwick
Women’s Volleyball JoMarie Aquino Yzaira Galan
Men’s Volleyball Ramon Jimenez Yaw Eshun